You are here

Waywords and Meansigns, 1st ed. (music adaptation)

Derek Pyle et al.
Publication/Performance Date: 


Waywords and Meansigns is an unabridged musical version of James Joyce's famous text,Finnegans Wake. The book has been divided its 17 chapters, with a different musician or performance group assigned to each chapter. Each group has free rein as to how they work with their assigned chapter (the only requirement is that the words be audible, unabridged, and more or less in their original order). The final work will be distributed freely in its digital format.

While one popular audio version of the Wake exists already, we feel that this reading is limited; read at breakneck speed by Patrick Healy, this rendition of the Wake limits the listener to a single aural interpretation of the text. While Healy's interpretation is quite impressive in and of itself, it is ultimately too narrow to accommodate the Wake's massive scope and range of possible readings. By inviting 17 different musicians, readers, and performers to record their own interpretations of the Wake, we hope to offer a version of Joyce's work that is stimulating, accessible, and enjoyable to even the most casual of readers and listeners.

The first edition debuted May 4, 2015, the 76th anniversary of Finnegans Wake's publication.

-- from